Holy Triduum 2019

Sundown on Holy Thursday to sundown on Easter Sunday is considered the most solemn part of the liturgical year. This three-day period is referred to as the Easter Triduum, also known as the Sacred Triduum, or Paschal Triduum.

Basically, the Sacred Triduum is one great festival recounting the last three days of Jesus’ life on earth, the events of his Passion and Resurrection, when the Lamb of God laid down his life in atonement for our sins.

HOLY THURSDAY (April 18) Evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper @ 7:00 pm
Washing of the feet After mass, Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament until 10:30 pm

GOOD FRIDAY (April 19) Celebration of the Lord’s Passion @ 3:00 pm

  • Liturgy of the Word
  • Veneration of the Cross
  • Collection forthe Holy Land
  • Holy Communion

*Today is a Universal day of Fasting & Abstinence

HOLY SATURDAY (April 20) @ 4:00 pm
Blessing of Festive Food

Easter Vigil @ 7:00 pm

  • Blessing of the fire & lighting of Paschal candle
  • Liturgy of the Word
  • Renewal of Baptismal Promises
  • Liturgy of the Eucharist
  • After Mass, blessing of festive food


9:00 am Mass(Renewal of Baptismal Promises)after Mass blessing of Festive food
10:45 am Mass(Renewal of Baptismal Promises)after Mass blessing of Festive food
12:30 pm Mass(Renewal of Baptismal Promises)after Mass blessing of Festive food

A Short Examination of Conscience

The Beatitudes

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Do I strive – with my time, passion, and resources – to accumulate more temporal goods and honors, instead of seeking to obtain true spiritual goods? Do I recognize my spiritual poverty and humbly acknowledge my need to continually seek and be filled with the Spirit of Christ?

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
Do I sorrow over the sins committed by myself and others, considering how much they offend God and how they bring more evil and disorder into the world? Do I do sufficient penance for my own sins, and reparation to God for the sins of others?

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
Am I obstinate and quarrelsome, always trying to assert my will over others in regard to petty and unimportant things? Do I strive to overcome evils with good, by responding to offenses with gentleness and a good will, instead of retaliating in anger and spite?

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
Am I trying to become more holy by conquering my habitual sins and diligently practicing acts of virtue? Do I love Jesus and strive to do His will above all things, instead of my own?

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
Are my eyes and my heart open to the mental, physical, or emotional sufferings of others? Do I try to relieve their pain and misery through spiritual and corporal works of mercy?

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
Do I try to keep my heart, mind, and soul untainted by the evil influences of this fallen world? Do I guard the purity of my senses by being cautious and discriminatory about what I allow myself to see, watch, and hear?

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
Do I strive to keep my soul in the peace of Christ? Do I look for ways to bring greater order and harmony among persons in my family or place of work, or do I participate in perpetuating discord and strife?

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Do I count it a joy when I suffer wrongs for the sake of doing good? Do I offer up my trials to God for the salvation of souls?

Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account.
Am I living my Catholic faith authentically so that others can see that I am a devout follower of Jesus Christ? Do I avoid living and proclaiming the truths taught by His Church for fear of being disliked, ridiculed, or persecuted?

The word beatitude means happiness. We can also read this list as “happy are those who…” Only when we are living in the light of the teachings of Jesus Christ will we find true happiness in this life and the next.

The Ten Commandments

I am the Lord your God: you shall not have strange Gods before me.
Have I treated people, events, or things as more important than God?

You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
Have my words, actively or passively, put down God, the Church, or people?

Remember to keep holy the Lord’s Day.
Do I go to Mass every Sunday (or Saturday Vigil) and on Holy Days of Obligation (Jan 1; Dec 25)? Do I avoid, when possible, work that impedes worship to God, joy for the Lord’s Day, and
proper relaxation of mind and body? Do I look for ways to spend time with family or in service on Sunday?

Honor your father and your mother.
Do I show my parents due respect? Do I seek to maintain good communication with my parents where possible? Do I criticize them for lacking skills I think they should have?

You shall not kill.
Have I harmed another through physical, verbal, or emotional means, including gossip or manipulation of any kind?

You shall not commit adultery.
Have I respected the physical and sexual dignity of others and of myself?

You shall not steal.
Have I taken or wasted time or resources that belonged to another?

You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
Have I gossiped, told lies, or embellished stories at the expense of another?

You shall not covet your neighbor’s spouse.
Have I honored my spouse with my full attention and exclusive love?

You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.
Am I content with my own means and needs, or do I compare myself to others unnecessarily?


  1. Prepare – Prayerfully compare your life to the Ten Commandments, the Beatitudes and the example of Christ.
  2. Go to confession – After the priest welcomes you, both of you make the Sign of the Cross. Begin your Confession by saying,
    “Forgive me Father for I have sinned. It has been (length of time) since my last Confession. These are my sins…”
  3. Act of Penance – The priest offers suitable advice and gives you an act of penance, which may include prayer, self-denial or works of mercy.
  4. Prayer of Penitent – Pray a prayer, such as the Act of Contrition, expressing sorrow for your sins and a desire not to sin again.
  5. Absolution – The priest extends his hands over your head and prays the Prayer of Absolution, making the Sign of the Cross over your head during the final words. Your respond, “Amen”.
  6. Dismissal – The priest sends you forth to go in peace. Continue to express your conversion through a life renewed according to the Gospel and the love of God.

An Act of Contrition: My God, I am sorry for my sins with all my heart. In choosing to do wrong and failing to do good, I have sinned against you whom I should love above all things. I firmly intend, with your help, to do penance, to sin no more, and to avoid whatever leads me to sin. Our Savior Jesus Christ suffered and died for us. In His name, my God, have mercy on me. Amen

“We beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God”. (2 Cor 5:20)